Chocolate Frosting


I cannot bake a cake from scratch. I don’t know what my problem is, and someday I will address it, but we are sticking with box cake mixes for now. This is an issue, though, because almost every single cake mix on the market contains trans fats and food dyes. The hippie mixes are better for us, but they have a few shortfalls in the flavor and consistency departments. I’ve had to make my peace with this and start focusing on good frostings. I read about one on an Arrowhead Mills box that sounded terrific, so we gave it a whirl with some minor adaptations – I increased the coffee content and substituted bakers chocolate for cocoa powder (I was out of cocoa powder).  It was phenomenal. And so very easy. I think that the recipe will adapt nicely to become fudge this winter, but in the meantime, this frosting recipe is a keeper.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 4 squares unsweetened bakers chocolate
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 3 Tablespoons brewed coffee
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract.

Method:

  1. Melt butter in a pan over low heat. Add in the chocolate squares and stir while it melts.
  2. Add powdered sugar and milk, alternating between the two, mixing on low speed.
  3. Add coffee and vanilla extract. Mix on fast speed until smooth.
  4. Spread on the cake while the frosting is still warm. They’re not kidding about this. It was still delicious after it cooled, but it did not spread attractively. Lots of lumps.
Leave a Reply

