Oatmeal Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange


This recipe is brought to you by my friend Julie. You may remember her from such hits as Chicken Corn Chowder. When it comes to her Oatmeal Cookies, Julie writes:

This is an old family recipe. I’m not sure how old or the history of it, but it goes back at least to my great-grandmother. I haven’t tasted oatmeal cookies like this before – the addition of allspice and cloves makes these different. Not that I have ever eaten cookies for breakfast, but I suspect these would taste great alongside morning coffee or tea. Again, that is just a guess. 

If you want a cake-like smaller cookie, make this dough a day ahead of time, and chill it overnight. The oatmeal becomes part of the dough, and the cookies are cute little nuggets. If you like a bit more chew or want them a bit crispier around the edges like a regular cookie, then bake these immediately after making the dough. Either way is delicious!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup shortening
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3.5 cups rolled oats (old-fashioned)
  • 1/2 cups milk
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 teaspoon allspice.

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Cream shortening and sugar.
  3. Add eggs; mix well.
  4. Add oats and milk; mix well.
  5. In a large bowl, mix remaining ingredients.
  6. Slowly add dry ingredients to wet ingredients.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes, until just golden brown around the edges. They might look a bit underdone, but they will firm up while cooling.
  8. Let cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

About Julie: 

I am a stay-at-home mother of two super kids. My daughter is 5 1/2 and my son is 2. I was a teacher before a mom, and I plan to go back someday. I love to read, bike, cook, listen to music and sing. I grew up in Aurora, lived in Chicago for 10 years, and somehow, luckily, ended up right where I began. 

One thought on “Oatmeal Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange

  1. Pingback: Cookie Fair | The Reluctant Hippie

Leave a Reply

