Cherry-Filled Sugar Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange


These little gems are from my friend Bridgette. And if you think these look good, you should try her butter cupcakes with maple frosting. I may have elbowed someone in the head at a bake sale to get ahold of one of Bridgette’s cupcakes. I’m not proud of it, but I also have no regrets. Maybe she will post more recipes for us. When it comes to her Cherry-Filled Sugar Cookies, Bridgette says:

I received a “Holiday Favorites” cookbook a few years ago from my Mom, who knows I love to bake. I usually have my standby recipes that I use year after year, but I’ve wanted to try something new. I found this recipe for Cherry Filled Sugar Cookies and thought they sounded yummy. I also happened to find a mini pie bites “gadget” at the store that cut out the round shapes and then sealed the edges of filled pastry. So I had to try it with this recipe. It worked really well and saved a lot of time. 

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 sticks margarine
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • Cherry pie filling

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix dry ingredients.
  3. Cut in margarine as you would for pie dough (I used a pastry cutter, but a fork or two knives would work as well.
  4. Make a well and add eggs and vanilla.
  5. Mix until a soft ball forms (dough will still be a little sticky)
  6. Chill 1 hour.
  7. Roll dough out on floured board.
  8. Cut with round cookie cutter and place on ungreased cookie sheet. 
  9. Place about 1 tsp. of cherry pie filling in the center and cover with another circle of dough.
  10. Seal edges with a fork or press with fingers.
  11. Bake for about 10 minutes or until edges are just turning golden.
  12. When cool, frost with your favorite powdered sugar icing or enjoy plain.

About Bridgette:

I am a stay-at-home mom who  loves to bake, read, sing and dance my butt off at Zumba(r) class. I have a wonderful husband, two precocious little boys (ages 5 and 2.5), and a sweet, old chocolate lab. My hometown is Aurora, IL, but I live in Dubuque, IA, that I have truly grown to love and call “home.”

One thought on “Cherry-Filled Sugar Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange

  1. Pingback: Cookie Fair | The Reluctant Hippie

Leave a Reply

