Snickerdoodles – Virtual Cookie Exchange


This recipe comes to us courtesy of my friend and favorite Pampered Chef consultant, Kathy. Cooking plays pretty heavily into how she makes her living, so I can always count on her for sharing winning recipes. She is also an excellent storyteller, as you can see from her description of her recipe:

Snickerdoodles. I’m not sure why I made them the first time; it very well could have been that I had all the ingredients in the house. I’m guessing it was one of those days that I had no chocolate chips, but really wanted to make cookies? I don’t know. But it all starts with the classic Betty Crocker Cookbook. It was the first cookbook I ever got. I think it was a shower gift. It truly has “everything you need to know to cook.”

In the last couple of years I have been very blessed to have the opportunity to spend a lot of time with my Grandma, Emily. She is an amazing 101-year-old woman who lives with her ferocious and crazy dog, Annie. when asked what her secret is to living a long life . . . COOKIES are definitely part of the recipe.

Grandma Emily

The woman does not go ONE day without a cookie. If someone has not baked for her, she will bake herself! She buys the cookie dough to have on hand now JUST IN CASE. Anyway, when I think of cookies, I think of my Grandma. Once a year we make Stollen Bread for her senior citizen children. It is the kind of project that takes ALL DAY. And so often times we bake cookies, etc. in between the rise cycles.

She told me this was her last year making stollen. She is RETIRING. Not that she doesn’t deserve it, but I highly doubt this will be the last. She just bought a new bread pan about 2 weeks ago!

Happy baking and happy memory making . . .

  • Prep: 10 min.
  • Bake: 8 min per batch
  • Makes 3 dozen cookies with a medium scoop or 4 dozen with a small scoop.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup stick butter, soft
  • 1/2 cup shortening (Tip: to lighten recipe, use 4 oz. light cream cheese instead)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2.75 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tarter
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. In a small bowl, stir together the 1/4 cup sugar and 2 teaspoons cinnamon.
  3. Cream sugar, butter, and shortening together. Add eggs.
  4. Mix dry ingredients together. Add this to other ingredients.
  5. Shape dough into balls (Medium Scoop) and roll in cinnamon sugar mixture.
  6. Bake 8-10 minutes. Cool.

About Kathy:

I am an Advanced Director with The Pampered Chef, a little home-based business I started over 17 years ago! But more importantly I am the mom of three tweens/teens that keep me running. When my husband, Matt and I were first married, I enjoyed playing “scientist” in the kitchen. I think it was sparked by a wedding gift: The Betty Crocker, NEW Cookbook. Accept no substitutes! I have always loved the “from scratch” concept of making something from nothing. It started out just because we were so poor, but now that we are less-poor, I still love to create fun things in the kitchen, in between the rat race!

Thanks to The Reluctant Hippie for inviting me to participate in your Virtual Cookie Exchange!

One thought on “Snickerdoodles – Virtual Cookie Exchange

  1. Pingback: Cookie Fair | The Reluctant Hippie

Leave a Reply

