Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange


My friend Brandi is one of *those* people. Successful, funny, intelligent, beautiful, crafty – and so nice that you just can’t bring yourself to hate her for all of these things. She is an excellent chef, photographer, and writer, so I was thrilled when she volunteered to do a post for the Virtual Cookie Exchange. About her peanut butter chocolate chip cookies, Brandi writes:

This cookie isn’t anything fancy, but it’s a winner for so many reasons. Chance are, you have all the ingredients you need to make this recipe in your pantry right now. It’s the perfect balance of two classic baking buddies – peanut butter and chocolate – and I’ve yet to meet a child or adult that didn’t sneak back for “just one more.”

I found this recipe several years back when I decided to make cookies for everyone’s gifts. (Side note: this was a terrible idea, and I’m never, ever doing it again.) This was the cookie that fit the traditional, everyone-will-love-it-even-if-they-hate-every-other-cookie cookie. It has since become the go-to recipe when I need to whip something up.

Despite its simplicity, I promise it’s a crowd pleaser, and people will ask you for the recipe. And at 128 calories per cookie, you can even eat one or two without too much guilt. Or like me, you can multiply 10 x 128 and feel guilty anyway. 

Ingredients:

With a simple recipe like this, I think the quality of ingredients can really make a difference in the overall taste of the finished product. I highly recommend a no sugar added peanut butter like Krema, as there is already quite a bit of sugar in this recipe, and plus, it’s a darn fine peanut butter. Also, only quality chocolate chips, please. They are the stars of the show!

  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed bgrown sugar
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1 large egg
  • 12 ounces all-purpose flour (about 2 2/3 cups)
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2/3 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine first 8 ingredients in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until smooth.
  3. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; leavel with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl; stir with a whisk. Add flour mixture to peanut butter mixture, stirring just until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
  4. This is the most important step! Place dough in the refrigerator for a minimum of 30 minutes or until the dough becomes firm. This will ensure that your cookies don’t spread and become flat.
  5. Drop dough by tablespoonfuls, rolling between your hands into balls, 2 inches apart on 2 baking sheets. It can be helpful to wet your hands in between cookies as dough warms up and becomes sticky.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes or until golden. Cool on a wire rack.

About Brandi:

I grew up with so many wonderful chefs and bakers in my life, and I like to think that I have a little bit of them in the kitchen with me each time I decide to not follow the recipe and just wing it. I love to spend time in the kitchen with my family and my friends, and I love the eating part, too. I am the lucky mother of two joyous boys and a photographer located in Northwest Indiana. You can hang out with me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Balee-Images/167066713317824 and see my work at www.baleeimages.com.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange

  1. Pingback: Cookie Fair | The Reluctant Hippie

Leave a Reply

