Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange


526283_10151261588160970_75729750_n

Shauna’s got mad cake and cookie skills. Check out her picture below – that’s Shauna  setting up the wedding cake and sweets that she made for a friend’s big day. When I asked my friends whether they were interested in doing a Virtual Cookie Exchange, I will admit that I had already pegged Shauna as a sucker for this request.  And she did not disappoint. I can’t wait to force the Hippie Husband to whip up a batch of these cookies for me. Shauna describes her path to this cookie:

The longest relationship I’ve ever had probably belongs to the one with my hairdresser, whom I lovingly refer to as “Hairdresser Heidi” since my best friend’s name is also Heidi. I’ve gone to her since my sophomore year in college, so about 13-14 years now. You don’t trust just anyone with your hair, so I’m keeping her as long as I can afford her. We’ve swapped stories about love, life, family, movies, laughs, food, and running – we’ve even run a half marathon together (ok, not together as she is considerably faster than me!).

One of the things I love most about us is our shared love for sweets. So when she casually mentioned a favorite fall cookie, I was intrigued – and then when I heard pumpkin was involved, I knew this would be a treat I would LOVE. And I was right.

She makes hers with chocolate chips – for whatever reason, I’ve always thought chocolate and pumpkin together was a little odd, so opted to use white chips instead. And as amazing as cream cheese icing is, believe it or not, these cookies are pretty damn tasty without it – so if you want to save yourself a few calories, that’s where you can knock off a few.

That being said, these cookies have both pumpkin AND oatmeal in them . . . so I feel like they must be healthy . . . right??

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup pumpkin
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Method:

  1. Combine flour, oatmeal, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.
  2. Cream butter and sugars. Add egg and vanilla. Alternate adding pumpkin and dry ingredients to butter mixture. Add chocolate chips.66032_10151261587835970_1911374420_n
  3. Bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes (or edges are brown). Can be frosted with cream cheese frosting (see recipe below).

Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 pound powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Method:

  1. Mix well

About Shauna:

I am an RN for a Birthing Center (aka Baby Factory) in central Illinois. I love baking 188482_10151261593010970_1186980911_nprimarily because I love eating the results. It started with the basics – cookies, muffins, etc. – but then I took a Cake Decorating class with my best friend about 3 years ago and found I loved that as well. Coincidentally, it was about that time that I started running. Now, I’m not saying it was because of the increased calories from cake and icing, but I did run my first half marathon earlier this year and am now registered for 2 more, so . . . you do the math :). I also love baking to give the goodies out to friends – because if I’m gonna gain weight from all this deliciousness, I’m taking everyone else down with me!

Other interests outside of baking and running off the outcomes include scrapbooking, a new found interest in crocheting, trashy tv, and finding a good bargain. 

One thought on “Pumpkin Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies: Virtual Cookie Exchange

  1. Pingback: Cookie Fair | The Reluctant Hippie

Leave a Reply

