Dresser Drawer Org


This is such a lame topic. It’s not nearly as sexy as recipes, but I find myself feeling mildly evangelistic about my dresser drawers right now. Also, most of the recipes we’ve tried over the past couple of weeks have been either culinary or photographic failures (I *really* need to learn how to use my new camera). For example,

Decent picture of the homemade Cheez-It crackers. The taste and texture? Not so great.

Decent picture of the homemade Cheez-It crackers. The taste and texture? Not so great.

Outstanding dinner from Jamie Oliver’s "Meals in Minutes" (Roast beef, baby popovers, little carrots, crispy potatoes, super-quick gravy) that I didn’t photograph before serving, and there were no leftovers. Because it was delicious. Next time, I promise.

Outstanding dinner from Jamie Oliver’s “Meals in Minutes” (Roast beef, baby popovers, little carrots, crispy potatoes, super-quick gravy) that I didn’t photograph before serving. There were no leftovers because it was such a good meal. Lesson learned – even if the lighting is terrible, take a picture immediately.

So today, we have the unfortunate combination of nerdy delight over organizational tactics and a lack of good food photos for the blog.

I saw a picture of this idea in a collection of lifehacks. No instructions, but the finished product left little to the imagination: just flip your stacks of t-shirts sideways so that you can view them all at once in the drawer.

IMG_1845

I thought about re-folding all of them before taking the picture so that each one was exactly perfectly folded. But that would be a visual lie, since even at their most organized, my drawers are not perfect. Not my style.

How did I not think of this earlier!?! Is everyone else already doing this? Am I just late to the party?

And yes, that is, indeed, a Barry Manilow t-shirt you see in there. 1995 tour. I was one of 10 people in that audience born after 1975. Judge me if you must – that concert kicked ass. 

The plan was to try this with the t-shirt drawer for a couple of weeks as an evaluation period. I liked it so much, now all of my drawers are set up this way. IMG_1875_v1It doesn’t look quite as impressive once you leave the world of uniform shapes and cuts, but it’s still very easy to use. I never have to dig through the drawer to find what I’m looking for, wasting time and leaving behind a jumbled mess. I’m also finding that this method takes up less space in the drawer.

Two weeks into the trial, I will admit that it takes a lot longer to fold laundry. I am sure this will get better as my brain and hands stop doing their default folds and get used to the new way of doing things. For now, I’m okay with the trade-off. My drawers no longer make me want to stick something sharp in my eye so as to avoid the chaos.

Now if I could just figure out a way to do this with my kitchen cabinets . . .

Leave a Reply

