Morning Glory Muffins


IMG_9619

I wanted a healthy, sweet snack for some friends who recently had a baby. Muffins filled with fruit and grains seemed like a good bet. There are a bunch of recipes online, so I combined and tweaked a few to create these.

 

IMG_2711_v1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons flaxseed meal
  • 1 cup shredded carrot
  • 2 apples, cored and finely diced
  • 1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup crushed pineapple, drained (reserve the juice)
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 3/4 cup applesauce

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°. Spray muffin tins with cooking spray. This recipe makes 18 muffins.
  2. In a small bowl, cover raisins, rolled oats, and coconut in a little pineapple juice while you prepare the rest of the ingredients. Add a little water if you need more liquid.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the flours, flaxseed meal, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.
  4. Drain the fruit and oats that were soaking in water, then add to the flour mixture, along with the carrots, apples, and pineapple.
  5. In a separate bowl, whisk the honey, egg, and applesauce until well combined.
  6. Pour the honey mix over the dry ingredients and gently stir until ingredients are just moistened.
  7. Spoon the batter into prepared muffin tins and bake about 25 minutes, until the tops spring back when pressed.
2 thoughts on “Morning Glory Muffins

  1. Just made these! They are moist and delicious. I don’t like coconut so we left it out. I don’t think it made a difference. A few things:
    1. Can you put when to put the apples in in the method? I just threw mine in with the oats and raisins. Was that what you did?
    2. 3 teaspoons = 1 tablespoon. For the baking powder it just seems easier for me to do one big scoop instead of 3 little ones!
    3. Mine were pretty close to burnt at 20 minutes. Next time I make these (which I will because they are healthy and good!) I will start checking at 18 minutes.
    4. I had little bits of shredded carrot sticking out of the tops if some of the muffin batter. They burnt badly but were easy to cut off at least. I’ll be sure to make sure all carrot shreds are covered by batter in the next batch!

    Keep the recipes coming. I love them!!!

    • 1. Yep – that’s when I added them, but I definitely forgot to include this in the recipe. Thanks for catching it!
      2. Lol – the original recipes called for 2 tsp., and I ended up adding more and just made the “+1” notation on my working recipe. Didn’t bother to notice that the change made for much easier measuring. This is why we need to switch to the metric system. Wake up, America!
      3. That is weird – I expected them to be done around 20 minutes, but they were nowhere near. I wonder what we’re doing differently. Are your muffin tins silver or black? Full disclosure: it doesn’t matter what your answer to this question is, since I have no idea what the difference between the two is.
      4. I’ve only made these twice, and I never ran into this. So glad you are giving these tips to the other folks who might be brave enough to try my recipes.

      Thank you for reading and commenting and for being wonderful!

Leave a Reply

