Hot Chocolate Mix


Hot Chocolate Mix {The Reluctant Hippie}

 

 

This was a dangerous discovery. While I was making chocolate syrup on Christmas Eve, I decided to reserve some of the dry ingredient mix to see whether it would work for hot chocolate. It does. And now I can make hot chocolate every night without dirtying a pan or measuring ingredients. Lord, give me strength . . .

Stir a tablespoon of the hot chocolate mix into 8 ounces of warm milk, and enjoy. If you are feeling extra decadent, add a splash of kahlua and forget about everything that bothered you during the earlier parts of the day. This is rich, cozy comfort in a mug.

Hot Chocolate Mix {The Reluctant Hippie}

Need a quick gift? This recipe makes a little too much for a pint-sized mason jar, so you will be forced to use the excess by making a cup or two for yourself while you are tying a bow on the mix. Here’s a Hot Chocolate Labels Printable, if you need one.* If you have a cute measuring spoon to tie onto the gift, all the better.
Hot Chocolate Mix {The Reluctant Hippie}

Ingredients:

  • 1.25 cups sugar
  • 1 cup cocoa powder (use a high-quality product. Trust me.)
  • 1 teaspoon espresso powder.
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt.

Method:
Combine all ingredients in an airtight container. Seal and shake until thoroughly mixed.

I don’t know how long this will keep in an airtight container, but it should be shelf stable for a pretty long time. Not that it matters – once you try it, the mix won’t last for long.

* Have we discussed the wonder of picmonkey.com? That’s what I used to make these labels, and I use it all the time to add text or effects to photos. I just love that site, and most of their tools are free!

3 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate Mix

  1. I don’t know why it took me so long to try this (probably because I had a canister of the store-bought stuff to use up), but oh my chocolatey goodness. This is so rich, and it tastes like real chocolate. I love that you can use what ever kind of milk you choose. I can use lactose-free milk and have hot chocolate again! Yay!

  2. Pingback: Nifty Gifties: A Retrospective (Updated) | The Reluctant Hippie

Leave a Reply

