Southern Comfort Punch


Southern Comfort Punch {The Reluctant Hippie}

Fair warning: it’s a tribute recipe, not a Hippie one. It is neither healthy nor family-friendly. It is, however, kind of delicious.

But before we get to the punch, I want to ask a favor.

My godmother’s birthday is tomorrow. Barb would’ve been 65 this year. Not a day goes by that I don’t miss her terribly. Her patience, humor, courage, selflessness, and kindness set a wonderful example and made us all feel so loved.

I tend to mark the dates of sad things more diligently than the happy days. Noting the anniversary of her death doesn’t tend to cheer anybody, though. So this year, I want to focus on celebrating her life instead of commemorating her death. And what better day to celebrate her than on her birthday?

I think the best way to honor her memory is to spend the day doing kind things. Will you join me? Sometime tomorrow, go out of your way to let someone know that they’re cared for. Send a note, make a quick telephone call, bake a treat, pay for a stranger’s coffee, make dinner for someone who is struggling – anything that spreads a little joy and helps a person feel like somebody cares.

For her birthday post, I knew I wanted to share one of her recipes. I was flipping through the recipe box that was her bridal shower gift to me, and I saw the byline of one of my favorite naughty party drinks. I’d always assumed that SoCo Punch was an old family recipe, as so many of our funny family stories feature this beverage. But it seems that the drunken escapades of my aunt and grandmother were enabled by a recipe from my mom’s best friend.

This punch is not for the serious drinkers. It’s jarringly sweet, dangerously easy to drink, and difficult to stop. And it is so, so good. Dust off the punch bowl and mix up a batch for a party this spring. Just make sure Grandma has a designated driver.

Ingredients:

  • 1 fifth of Southern Comfort, chilled
  • 1 (6-oz) can frozen orange juice
  • 1 (6-oz) can frozen lemonade
  • 6 oz. fresh lemon juice
  • 3 quarts chilled 7-up (NOT Sprite. Substitute sparkling water for 1-2 quarts if you want to cut down on the sweetness. But why?)
  • Orange and/or lemon slices for garnish

Method:

  1. Mix the booze, orange juice, lemonade, and lemon juice in a punch bowl.
  2. Add the fizzy elements just before serving.
One thought on “Southern Comfort Punch

  1. Pingback: Virtual Birthday Celebration | The Reluctant Hippie

Leave a Reply

