Breakfast Cookies


Breakfast Cookies {The Reluctant Hippie}

Artist Jen Evans is gifted on so many levels. Check out one of my favorite paintings of hers:

"Are We - Are We Safe In Here? I Doubt It" Copyright Jen Evans

“Are We – Are We Safe In Here? I Doubt It”
Copyright Jen Evans
http://www.jenevansart.com

In addition to her extraordinary paintings, Jen’s brilliance shines in her smile, her writing, her fun ideas, and her culinary creations. She whipped up these cookies on a whim for a brunch recently, and they were so delicious that I forced her to recount the ingredients and the process so that I could make a decent copy of them.

There are lots of things to love about the ingredients list: lots of fiber, quality vegetarian proteins, and only a touch of refined sugar (you could substitute cacao nibs if you want to make this completely devoid of refined sugar). Hemp seeds add magnesium, omegas, protein, and a delightful crunch.

I would have no qualms about giving these to my kids for a grab ‘n go breakfast on a morning when we’re pressed for time. I’m pretty sure the kids would be fine with this plan, too.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup + 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • 1 cup dates, tightly packed
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup hemp seeds
  • 2/3 cup walnuts (optional)

 Method:

  1. Combine oats, flour, salt and baking soda in a large bowl.
  2. In a blender, process the coconut oil, dates, vanilla, and eggs to puree the dates a bit.
  3. Mix wet and dry ingredients, then fold in chocolate chips, hemp seeds, and walnuts.
  4. Drop onto a cookie sheet in globs that are a little smaller than golf balls. Gently press each ball into a disk about 1/2 inch high.
  5. Bake 10 minutes at 350┬║.
2 thoughts on “Breakfast Cookies

  1. Seriously you read my mind. I’ve been looking for a decent to go breakfast! Can’t wait to try these. Although I’ve never used hemp seed. It sounds like it shouldn’t be legal….

  2. The first time I tried to make these I bought the hemp seeds but forgot the dates. So I made these instead:
    http://poweroffood.com/flourless-hemp-peanut-butter-cookies/

    They were super yummy and I’d make them again.

    I bought some dates this week and went to go make this recipe. Turns out you need refrigerate hemp seeds once the package is opened. So I tossed the hemp seeds but just threw in flax seed meal. Not as protein packed but still good. They were great!! And I’ve got a bag full of cookies in the freezer and I grab a few on mornings we are running out the door with no time for mom to eat!

    If I ever make the actual recipe, I’ll let you know!!

Leave a Reply

