FrankenSmoothies


FrankenSmoothies {The Reluctant Hippie}

We’ve tried green smoothies multiple times, and the kids would never give them a fair shake because of the appearance. It’s impossible to incorporate greens into smoothies without turning them green, or grey at the very least.

When I saw the green pudding cups with Frankenstein’s monster drawn on the outside, I thought that maybe I could sneak in green smoothies under the guise of spookiness in October.

I told the kids that I had bought a special hippie food dye to use in Halloween treats. This was not technically a lie. It was organic spinach, and I bought it for the express purpose of turning a treat green. My lawyers assure me that the children cannot sue me for fraud.

They bought it. Little Hippie kept asking me what was in it. I told her it was the coloring, juice, and strawberries. I think she might be on to me, but she drank the smoothie and said it was really good. Baby Hippie agreed.

Use a black sharpie to draw hair, eyes, and a mouth on a clear plastic cup. Fill with this gruesome-looking smoothie. Delight your children and friends. You can decide whether to let them in on the trick of this treat.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups frozen spinach
  • 1.5 cups apple juice (+ more if you need a little extra to get it to blend)
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries

Method:

  1. Throw the ingredients into your blender. Turn it on. Add more juice if necessary to get everything to blend nicely.
  2. Pour into clear cups decorated to look like Frankenstein’s monster.
One thought on “FrankenSmoothies

Leave a Reply

