Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins


Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins {The Reluctant Hippie}

I’m cheating on this post. It’s really just my Pumpkin Bread recipe made with gluten-free flour. I approached this recipe trial with trepidation – this is one of our favorite recipes of all time. I was afraid that it wouldn’t convert so easily.

I was wrong. There were a few quick adjustments to get the consistency right, but otherwise, these muffins are almost as good as the gluteny version. They stick to the wrapper a little more, but that was my only complaint. Next time, I will try greasing the muffin tin and skipping the paper liner.

GF flour

The flour I used was Hodgson Mill’s gluten-free baking flour.┬áIt didn’t require adding any additional stabilizers like xanthan gum, and it was by far the most affordable GF flour available at our grocery store. I was pleased with the results, and I look forward to trying this flour in other recipes.

Yield: 18 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups gluten-free baking flour (I used Hodgson Mill’s Gluten-Free All-Purpose Baking Flour)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. cloves
  • 1/8 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp. cardamom
  • 2 cups pumpkin puree (1 can, if you are using store-bought pumpkin)
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin cups with paper or foil liners
  2. Mix dry ingredients (except for sugar) in a large mixing bowl.
  3. In a smaller bowl, combine the pumpkin, eggs, sugar, and vegetable oil.
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry mix. Stir gently to combine.
  5. Pour into prepared muffin tin. Fill each cup almost to the top – the batter doesn’t rise much.
  6. Bake until a toothpick comes out cleanly. Start checking around 20 minutes.
One thought on “Gluten-Free Pumpkin Muffins

  1. I really like the King Arthur GF all purpose flour too. Get parchment cups for your muffins and cupcakes. It’s zero stick awesomeness. I use the paper chef kind – they have them at woodmans.

Leave a Reply

